Home Page

Meet The Governors

The Local Governing Body of Longwick CE Combined Academy School


ODBST (Oxford Diocese Bucks Schools Trust) is governed by a Board of Trustees who is responsible for overseeing the management and administration of ODBST and all the academies run by it including Longwick. The Trustees are accountable to external government agencies including the Charity Commission and the Department for Education for the quality of education they provide. They are required to have systems in place through which they can assure themselves of quality, safety and good practice. As Longwick is a Church of England school the Trustees are also accountable for ensuring that the academy provides an education of the highest quality within the context of Christian belief and practice. In order to discharge these responsibilities the Trustees appoint people who are locally based to serve on a local governing body which has been established to ensure the good governance of the school.


The strategic functions of the governing body are ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction: holding the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school, its pupils and the performance management of the staff: overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


The governing body is made up of 12 members: the Head Teacher; the Rector of St Mary’s Princes Risborough (ex officio); 2 Foundation governors appointed by the Diocese; 4 trust governors drawn from the local area, selected because of their skills and interests; 1 staff governor elected by staff members and 3 elected parent governors. With the exception of the Head Teacher governors all hold office for a period of four years.


On conversion to an academy within the ODBST on 1st July 2018 all governors’ terms of office came to an end. All were reappointed as members of the Local governing body at that time and it was agreed that the expiry date of the original term of office would be observed to facilitate orderly succession planning.

Governor appointments and terms of office

Mrs Diane Kerwood

Foundation Governor

Appointed 18 Jun 2016

Expires 17 Jun 2020
Mrs Deborah Cadwallader

Trust Governor

Appointed 16 Jun 2015

Expires 15 Jun 2019
Mrs Claire Randall

Trust Governor

Appointed 14 Mar 2017

Expires 12 Mar 2021
Mrs Clare Smith

Trust Governor

Appointed 17 May 2016

Expires 16 May 2020
Mrs Valerie Stattersfield

Foundation Governor

Appointed 04 Nov 2017

Expires 3 Nov 2021
Mrs Sophie Marshall

Trust Governor

Appointed 30 Nov 2017

Expires 29 Nov 2021
Mrs Zoe Williams

Parent Governor

Appointed 14 Jun 2016

Expires 13 Jun 2020
Mrs Amanda Andrews

Parent Governor


Mrs Lucy Hendley

Parent Governor


Rev David Williams Ex Officio  
Mr Simon Humphreys

Staff Governor

Appointed 24 Nov 2015

Expires 22 Nov 2019
Mr David Liddle Headteacher  


Governors play a valuable and important role in the support of our school. They meet regularly together and work closely with the Head Teacher and the school staff. The responsibility for the actions and decisions of the governing body lies with the whole governing body not with individual members. All governors are required to undertake regular training provided to enable them to exercise their duties effectively. This is a vital part of being a governor enabling us to keep up to date with changes across all areas of education provision.


Governing Body



Gov Type

Start Date


Mrs Diane Kerwood Foundation 12.07.2016 Chair; FinGP Comm; Headteacher’s PM; Worship; SEND; Personal Development; Behaviour & Welfare

Mrs Debby Cadwallader



Vice-Chair; Ed Comm; Development; Monitoring Teaching, Learning & Assessment

Mr David Liddle



Ed Comm; FinGP Comm

Mrs Joel Feltwell

Deputy Headteacher



Mr Simon Humphreys



Ed Comm

Miss Clare Smith



Chair FinGP Comm

Mrs Valerie Stattersfield



Ed Comm; FinGP Comm; EYFS; Reception; Headteacher’s PM

Revd David Williams

Ex officio


School Assemblies

Mrs Zoe Williams



Ed Comm

Mrs Claire Randall Local Authority 24.01.2017 Chair Ed Comm; Governor Communication; Website
Mrs Sophie Marshall Co-opted 30.11.2017 Ed Comm; Safeguarding
Mrs Amanda Andrews Parent tbc tbc
Mrs Lucy Hendley Parent tbc tbc

Mrs Carole Green



Clerk to LGB

Mr Jim Cadwallader



Clerk to Ed & FinGP Comms




The governing body meets twice each term and occasionally more frequently if there is urgent business that needs attention. The work is divided between 2 main committees: the Education committee oversees the curriculum and pupil welfare and also reviews most of the school’s management policies: the Finance and General Purposes committee has responsibility for the school’s finances, setting the school budget and reviewing the school’s financial performance. In addition the committee monitors staff performance management as well as having responsibility for pay and other HR matters, Health & Safety and premises. The agendas and minutes of all governing body meetings are available to read in school.

Longwick School's Full Governing Body Meeting Attendance


Nov 17 A NA NA
Feb 18 A A NA NA NA NA
Mar 18 A NA NA NA NA
May 18 A NA NA NA NA
Jun 18 A NA NA NA NA
Sep 18 A NA NA NA NA
Nov 18 A A NA NA NA NA


  • A = Apologies received and accepted    NA = Not applicable

Contacting the governors

Governors welcome suggestions, feedback and ideas from parents. Please contact the Chair of Governors, Diane Kerwood through the school office or by email to

Declaration of Other Interests for Governors